Visit Worldwide Topsites

Monday, 2 January 2012

Mountains of the Moon. List of lunar mountains. Description and location.

                                                  Montes Apenninus through my telescope.
The mountains of the Moon are mostly the result of impacts. This is especially evident if we look at the peaks that rises from the center of many craters.
Mountain chains are often the edges of gigantic basins, basins, which  after the impacts were responsible for of their formation.
Isolated peaks are part of the old basins, similar to lost islands on a cold sea of stone.
Lunar mountains are most easily found and identified when their shadows are longer, such as when the sun shines at a low angle.
If one night you see through a telescope a peak of a mountain on the Moon, the second night you will see big changes in it's appearance.

Shadows of the mountains, crater walls and central peaks and other features are also part of the beauty of the Moon as seen through the eyepiece.

Mountains of the Moon are of two categories: isolated mountains (Mons) and massives (Montes).

 I begin to enumerate isolated mountains (Mons) on the Moon in alphabetical order:

Mons Agnes, 1 km diameter, named after a Greek female
Mons Ampère, 30 km diameter, 3.0 km high, after André-Marie Ampère, physicist

Mons André, 10 km diameter, male French name
Mons Ardeshir, 8 km in diameter, after the Persian king Ardashir (Iran)
Mons Argaeus, 50 km diameter, after Mount Erciyes, Asia Minor
Mons Blanc, 25 km diameter, 3.6 km height, after Mont Blanc in the Alps
Mons Bradley, 30 km diameter, 4.2 km height, by James Bradley, an astronomer
Mons Delisle, 30 km diameter, after nearby crater Delisle
Mons Dieter, 20 km diameter, German male name
Mons Dilip, 2 km diameter, Indian male name

Mons Esam, 8 km, diameter, Arabic male name
Mons Ganau, 14 km diameter, African male name
Mons Delta Gruithuisen, 20 km diameter, after nearby crater Gruithuisen
Mons Gamma Gruithuisen, 20 km diameter, after nearby crater Gruithuisen
Mons Hadley, 25 km diameter, 4.6 km height, after John Hadley, inventor
Mons Hadley Delta, 15 km diameter, 3.5 km height, after nearby Mount Hadley
Mons Hansteen, 30 km diameter, after nearby crater Hansteen
Mons Herodotus, 5 km diameter after nearby crater Herodotus
Mons Huygens, 40 km diameter 4.7 km height, after Christian Huygens, astronomer
Mons La Hire, 25 km diameter, 1.5 km height, after Philippe De La Hire, astronomer
Mons Maraldi, 15 km diameter 1.3 km height, after nearby crater Maraldi
Mons Moro, 10 km diameter, after Antonio Lazzaro Moro, scientist
Mons Penck, 30 km diameter, 4. km height, after Albrecht Penck, geographer
Mons Pico, 25 km diameter, 2 km height, in Spanish "peak"
Mons Piton, 25 km diameter, 2.3 km high after Mount Piton, Tenerife
Mons Rümker, 70 km diameter, 0.5 km height, after Karl Christian Ludwig Rümker, astronomer
Mons Usov, 15 km diameter, after Michael A. Usov, geologist
Mons Vinogradov, 25 km diameter 1.4 km height, after Aleksandr Pavlovich Vinogradov, chemist
Mons Vitruvius, 15 km, diameter, 2.3 km height, after nearby crater Vitruvius

Mons Wolff , 35 km diameter, 3.5 km height, after Baron Christian von Wolff, philosopher

I enumerate below massifs of the Moon in alphabetical order:

Montes Agricola 141 km, Named after Agricola Georgius scientist
Montes Alpes 281 km, Alps, Europe
Montes Apenninus, 401 km, Apennines mountains, Italy
Montes Archimedes , 163 km ,named after nearby Archimedes crater
Montes Carpatus 361 km, Carpathian Mountains, Europe
Montes Caucasus, 445 km, from the Caucasus Mountains, Europe
Montes Cordillera 574 km, in Spanish, "mountain chain"
Montes Haemus , 560 km, Greek name for the Balkans Mountains
Montes Harbinger 90 km, crater Aristarchus messengers

Montes Jura 422 km, Jura Mountains  Europe
Montes Pyrenaeus, 164 km, Pyrenees Mountains, Europe
Montes Recti, 90 km, Latin name for "straight portion"
Montes Riphaeus 189 km, Greek name for the Ural Mountains, Russia

Montes Taurus, 172 km, after Taurus Mountains, Asia Minor
Montes Tura 791 km, Named after Lawrence, an astronomer
Montes Secchi, 50 km, Named after nearby Secchi crater
Montes Spitzbergen, 60 km in German, "sharp peaks" and the Spitsbergen islands likeness

Montes Teneriffe, named after the island of Tenerife


Post a Comment

All images are © Copyright 2010-2015 Lupu Victor. All rights reserved.Images may not be reproduced, published, or copied in any form without written permission of the author. Thank you for respecting the intellectual property rights. ASTROFOTOGRAFIA | Lupu Victor Astronomy - Contact - About
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Online Project management